In long-term projects, scientists of the ETH Domain explore options to guarantee forms of energy supply in Switzerland that are resource-efficient, compatible with the climate, safe and independent. Examples of this include the optimisation and intensification of combined gas power plants with CO2 carbon capture, deep geothermal energy, solar energy, hydropower and biomass.

Thin-film solar cells on a transparent polyimid foil developed by Empa. Thanks to the flexibility of the foil, the solar cells can be mounted on a variety of surfaces. Source: Empa.

Energy research in the ETH Domain has a long-term orientation and plays an important part. Research projects concentrate on the potential, the feasibility and the risks of various energy technologies and thus provide a basis for political decision-making. Researchers do not only focus on increasing efficiency but also on the optimisation of renewable energies such as hydropower, biomass, solar energy and deep geothermal energy, as well as a reduction in the CO2 emission of combined gas power plants. “It is the task of research to demonstrate the options and challenges of different energy technologies. The decisions, however, will have to be made by the politicians,” says Fritz Schiesser, President of the ETH Board.

Environmentally friendly combined gas power plants
A modern combined gas power plant with an output of 400 Megawatts could replace a nuclear power plant the size of Mühleberg. However, this would entail additional greenhouse gas emissions of about one million tonnes of CO2 per year. It is technically feasible today to capture this CO2 before it reaches the chimney and to channel it into the ground instead of into the air. In depths of at least 800 metres, below dense rock strata, it can be permanently stored in a way that is similar to natural oil or gas deposits. Whether and to what extent this process is also feasible in Switzerland is being investigated in the CARMA project headed by Prof. Marco Mazzotti of the ETH Zurich. In this context, the storage capacity and the costs play as much of a role as sustainability and acceptance by the population. For the latter, it is primarily the effectiveness and safety of the CO2 storage that is of central importance. To demonstrate both in a field trial is the researchers’ declared aim. “Speed is of the essence since experience shows that a field trial takes about ten years from planning stage to conclusion. The storage of the CO2 volumes from combined gas power plants should only be realised after a successful demonstration,” says Marco Mazzotti.

Inexhaustible energy in the Earth’s interior
“The heat in the Earth’s interior represents an energy resource that is unlikely ever to be depleted. The potential of deep geothermal energy is not limited by the resources that are available but by technology,” says Marco Mazzotti. Natural strata with hot water which satisfy all the requirements for power generation can only be found in very few locations. Enhanced geothermal systems (EGSs) are capable of providing access to a substantially larger part of the thermal energy that exists deep down in the Earth and of making it utilisable at the surface. In this procedure, the permeability of rock is increased by means of stimulation in order to enable the water to circulate through the hot reservoir. Various aspects of this advanced reservoir exploitation are being further developed in the ETH Domain, including the avoidance of perceptible seismic activity and new drilling processes.

In 80 minutes, the Earth receives as much solar energy as the whole of humankind uses up in a year.

Thin-film solar cells with market potential
It is not only the Earth’s interior that contains immense energy potential; in theory, the sun would also be able to solve our energy problem. “In 80 minutes, the Earth receives as much solar energy as the whole of humankind uses up in a year,” says Prof. Gian-Luca Bona, Director of Empa. In order to make even better use of solar energy, Empa focuses on the development of a new generation of photovoltaic cells that are mounted on foil by means of thin films. In the laboratory, these anorganic thin-film solar cells have already displayed an efficiency level of over 18 per cent. The efficiency level describes the proportion of incoming solar energy that is converted into electric power. To be able to mount thin-film solar cells on different materials of large dimensions at favourable cost, Empa’s researchers are developing a kind of printing technology that might facilitate a widespread application of thin-film solar cells.

Making even better use of hydropower
Hydroelectric power plants produce 55 per cent of electric power in Switzerland. Thus hydropower is this country’s most important renewable energy. Pumped storage power plants, in particular, play an important part in cushioning peak demand, in the generation of power reserves and the integration of new renewable energies into the power grid. At the EPFL in Lausanne, various projects are under way that are concerned with the exploration of efficient modes of operation for pumped storage power plants and their comprehensive monitoring. Massimiliano Capezzali, Deputy Director of the EPFL’s Energy Center, is convinced that the maintenance of power plants must also be accorded a great deal of importance: “A renovation and extension of Swiss hydroelectric power plants could substantially increase their energy production.”

In parallel, the Aquatic Research Institute Eawag is exploring what effects the utilisation of hydropower has on aquatic ecosystems and how negative consequences such as fish migration and the dynamics of river landscapes can be avoided. At the WSL, studies are in progress about future water availability in Switzerland. Researchers are investigating how much water will be available for power generation in a warmer climate with less snow and partially melted glaciers.

Methane for a decentralised power supply
After water, biomass is Switzerland’s second most important source of renewable energy. The term biomass denotes all the organic materials that are produced by photosynthesis and that have not been changed by geological processes like oil and coal. For the purpose of energy production, biomass is converted into fuels, chemicals or methane by means of catalysis or gasification. “Methane could be a driver for a decentralised power supply or used for vehicles with gas engines,” says Prof. Alexander Wokaun, Head of the General Energy Department at the PSI. In energy production with biomass, it is predominantly wood-type waste that is used. According to an Eawag study, the production of methane from wood (biogas) would provide Switzerland with a good complement to established energy technologies.

Much used wood
Owing to the scarcity of fossil fuels in the last few years, the generation of heat and energy from wood has increased in significance. In order to be able to plan a possible expansion in the generation of wood energy, it is important to know the wood reserves available in Swiss forests. This knowledge is provided by the National Forest Inventory (LFI), which is conducted by the WSL together with the Federal Office for the Environment. Forests do not only serve as an energy resource but also as places for recreation and biodiversity, and they provide protection against natural hazards. In addition, wood is an important building material. All this can result in conflicts over use, which is why the WSL is exploring how much wood will be available for energy production in future. To this end, it is developing various scenarios concerning factors such as climate, management and utilisation for other purposes.

Even though waste wood constitutes a sensible type of biomass, Alexander Wokaun and his team are doing research into alternative materials that have a high, still unused energy potential. According to Alexander Wokaun, a promising source is biomass containing water such as liquid manure or sewage sludge, which is converted into methane under high pressure. The researchers at the PSI are currently developing a pilot plant for this procedure.

Energy efficiency is indispensable
Even if Switzerland optimises energy generation, it is indispensable to use any energy available more efficiently. The Competence Center Energy and Mobility (CCEM) at the PSI promotes energy research projects in the ETH Domain that involve more than one institution. In this way, it makes a contribution towards the solution of the great challenges that the Swiss energy system is facing, a system which is expected to provide energy services in a resource-efficient, low-emission, reliable and economical manner. The ways in which these sustainability goals can be achieved are being explored at the CCEM. They comprise an increase in efficiency in all energy conversion steps, energy storage, as well as the replacement of fossil fuels by energy sources that are low in CO2.

In the institutions of the ETH Domain, numerous projects are ongoing for the development of energy-efficient technologies. Thus the PSI is conducting research into more efficient vehicles. In cooperation with industry, PSI researchers have developed fuel cells that might serve as a basis for a marketable vehicle drive. At Empa, scientists are searching for technologies that reduce the energy consumption of buildings;  interesting approaches include plasters on the basis of nanomaterials. Such a high-performance type of insulating plaster developed by Empa provides insulation that is two to three times better than that of conventional plaster and is suitable for both new buildings and renovation work.

Eawag is continuing to develop energy-saving processes for waste water treatment, which are already used in a sewage plant in the city of Zurich, for instance. Finally, the EPFL is cooperating with the cities of La Chaux-de-Fonds, Lausanne, Martigny and Neuchâtel to develop a software that will enable the cities to better plan and manage their energy supply and energy demand.

01 juin 2011

Les scientifiques du Domaine des EPF recherchent, dans le cadre de projets à long terme, des moyens de garantir à la Suisse un approvisionnement énergétique sûr, indépendant et qui ménage les ressources et le climat. Il s’agit par exemple d’optimiser et d’intensifier l’utilisation des centrales à cycle combiné au gaz naturel, de la géothermie profonde, des énergies solaire et hydraulique ainsi que de la biomasse.

Cellules solaires développées par l’Empa déposées en couches fines sur des feuilles de polyimide transparentes. Grâce à la flexibilité des feuilles, les cellules solaires peuvent être appliquées sur diverses surfaces. Source: Empa

La recherche énergétique, qui joue un role majeur dans le Domaine des EPF, est orientée sur le long terme. Les projets de recherche se concentrent sur le potentiel, la faisabilité et les risques de différentes technologies énergétiques pour servir ainsi de base aux décisions politiques. Les chercheurs veulent améliorer l’efficacité énergétique, mais aussi optimiser les énergies renouvelables telles que les énergies hydraulique et solaire, la biomasse ou la géothermie profonde, et réduire les émissions de CO2 générées par les centrales à cycle combiné au gaz. «La recherche a pour mission d’identifier les possibilités et les enjeux de diverses technologies énergétiques. Mais c’est aux politiciens de trancher», déclare Fritz Schiesser, président du Conseil des EPF.

Nouvelles centrales à cycle combiné
Une centrale à cycle combiné au gaz, d’une puissance de 400 mégawatts, pourrait remplacer une centrale nucléaire de la taille de Mühleberg. Toutefois, cela entraînerait un rejet supplémentaire de gaz à effet de serre d’environ un million de tonnes de CO2 par an. Il est possible de capturer le CO2 avant qu’il ne soit rejeté dans l’atmosphère afin de l’amener sous terre et le stocker durablement à une profondeur minimale de 800 mètres dans des formations géologiques comparables aux réservoirs naturels de gaz ou de pétrole. Le projet CARMA, sous la conduite du professeur Marco Mazzotti de l’ETH Zurich, étudie la faisabilité de ce procédé en Suisse. La capacité de stockage et les coûts sont aussi déterminants que l’acceptation par la population. Pour celle-ci, ce sont surtout l’efficacité et la sécurité du stockage de CO2 qui comptent. En faire la démonstration sur le terrain est le but des chercheurs. «Il y a urgence, car entre la conception d’un essai et son achèvement, il faut compter environ dix ans. Ce n’est qu’après une démonstration réussie que le stockage du CO2 devrait être réalisé à grande échelle», explique Marco Mazzotti.

Energie inépuisable dans le sous-sol
«La chaleur accumulée dans les profondeurs de la terre représente une source d’énergie quasi inépuisable. Si le potentiel de la géothermie profonde ne peut pas être pleinement exploité, ce n’est pas en raison du manque de ressources, mais bien de la technologie», précise Marco Mazzotti. En effet, seuls quelques sites présentent des nappes aquifères naturelles qui remplissent toutes les conditions pour produire du courant. Les Enhanced Geothermal Systems (EGS) permettent d’accéder à une part beaucoup plus grande de l’énergie thermique contenue dans le sol pour l’utiliser ensuite en surface. Ce faisant, on augmente la perméabilité de la roche par stimulation pour permettre la circulation de l’eau à travers le réservoir chaud. Les chercheurs du Domaine des EPF développent différents aspects de cet accès au réservoir. Il s’agit par exemple d’éviter les activités sismiques notables et d’élaborer de nouvelles techniques de forage.

En 80 minutes, la Terre reçoit autant d’énergie solaire que l’ensemble de l’humanité en consomme en un an.»

Nouveau type de cellules solaires
Le sous-sol n’est pas le seul à renfermer un trésor énergétique: «En 80 minutes, la Terre reçoit autant d’énergie solaire que l’ensemble de l’humanité en consomme en un an», déclare le professeur Gian-Luca Bona, directeur de l’Empa. Afin d’optimiser cette source d’énergie, l’Empa développe de nouvelles cellules solaires déposées en couches fines sur du plastique. Ce type de cellules anorganiques dispose déjà d’un rendement élevé en laboratoire (plus de 18%). Le rendement correspond à la proportion d’énergie solaire captée puis transformée en courant électrique. Pour que la pose de cellules solaires à couches minces soit réalisable sur de grandes surfaces – et donc à moindre coût – sur différents matériaux, les chercheurs de l’Empa mettent au point une sorte de technique d’impression qui permettrait de généraliser le recours à ces nouvelles cellules solaires.

Mieux utiliser l’énergie hydraulique
Les centrales hydrauliques produisent 55% du courant électrique en Suisse.Les centrales de pompage-turbinageen particulier, jouent un rôle significatif pour couvrir la demande lors de pics de consommation, pour assurer le stockage d’énergie et intégrer de nouvelles énergies renouvelables dans le réseau électrique. A l’EPFL, des projets destinés à développer des modes de fonctionnement efficaces pour ces usines et leur surveillance sont en cours. Pour Massimiliano Capezzali, directeur adjoint de l’Energy Center de l’EPFL, l’entretien des centrales est aussi un enjeu d’importance: «La rénovation et l’agrandissement des centrales hydrauliques suisses permettraient d’accroître considérablement leur production d’énergie.»

En parallèle, l’Eawag examine l’impact de l’utilisation de l’énergie hydraulique sur les écosystèmes aquatiques. Il étudie également les moyens d’éviter les conséquences néfastes pour la migration des poissons ou encore la dynamique des zones alluviales. Au WSL, des chercheurs tentent de déterminer la quantité d’eau qui sera disponible en Suisse dans les années à venir pour produire du courant, sachant que le réchauffement climatique provoquera une diminution des chutes de neige et la fonte partielle des glaciers.

Le méthane producteur d’électricité
La biomasse constitue la deuxième source d’énergie renouvelable la plus importante en Suisse. Ce terme désigne l’ensemble des matériaux organiques produits par la photosynthèse et qui, contrairement au pétrole ou au charbon, ne sont pas le résultat d’un processus géologique. Lors de la production d’énergie, la biomasse est transformée en carburant, en produits chimiques ou en méthane grâce à la catalyse ou à la gazéification. «Le méthane pourrait permettre une alimentation électrique décentralisée ou être utilisé pour des véhicules équipés de moteurs à gaz», précise le professeur Alexander Wokaun, directeur du département de recherche Energie non nucléaire du PSI. Pour produire de l’énergie avec de la biomasse, on utilise surtout des chutes de bois. Une étude de l’Eawag a montré que l’ob-tention de méthane à partir du bois (Bio-SNG) offrirait à la Suisse uncomplément aux technologies énergétiquesactuelles.

Le bois, une ressource providentielle
La production de chaleur et d’énergie grâce au bois a gagné en importance en raison de la raréfaction des combustibles fossiles. Pour planifier une éventuelle expansion de l’énergie tirée du bois, il est nécessaire de connaître les réserves de bois dans les forêts suisses. L’inventaire forestier national (IFN), tenu par le WSL et l’Office fédéral de l’environnement, en fait le recensement. En plus d’être une ressource énergétique, la forêt est un lieu de détente et elle sert la biodiversité ou à la protection contre les dangers naturels. Le bois est en outre un matériau de construction important. Autant d’aspects qui peuvent engendrer des conflits d’utilisation. C’est pourquoi le WSL recherche quelle quantité de bois sera disponible à l’avenir pour la production d’énergie. Pour ce faire, il élabore différents scénarios quant aux facteurs d’influence tels que le climat, l’exploitation ou l’utilisation à d’autres fins.

Bien que les déchets de bois soient intéressants, Alexander Wokaun et son équipe étudient d’autres matières, au potentiel énergétique plus élevé et inexploité. Selon Alexander Wokaun, la biomasse humide comme le lisier ou les boues d’épuration, transformée en méthane sous haute pression, est très prometteuse. Les chercheurs développent au PSI une installation pilote pour tester ce procédé.

Efficacité énergétique indispensable
Même si la Suisse optimise son approvisionnementénergétique, elle doit aussi utiliser l’énergie plus efficacement. Le Centre de compétences Energie et mobilité (CCEM), rattaché au PSI, encourage les projets en recherche énergétique communs à plusieurs institutions du Domaine des EPF. Il contribue ainsi à solutionner les défis majeurs qui se posent à l’approvisionnement énergétique suisse: fournir des prestations fiables et économiques, en ménageant les ressources et en générant peu d’émissions. Les moyens d’atteindre ces objectifs de durabilité font l’objet de recherches au CCEM. Il s’agit d’augmenter l’efficacité à chaque étape de la transformation d’énergie, de stocker celle-ci et de remplacer les combustibles fossiles par des ressources énergétiques pauvres en CO2.

De nombreux projets visant à développer des technologies énergétiques plus efficaces sont en cours dans les institutions du Domaine des EPF. Le PSI, par exemple, a mis au point, en partenariat avec l’industrie, un système de piles à combustible qui pourrait servir de modèle pour une méthode de propulsion commercialisable pour des véhicules. A l’Empa, les scientifiques sont en quête de technologies à même de diminuer la consommation d’énergie des bâtiments. Les crépis fabriqués à partir de nanomatériaux constituent une option intéressante. Un crépi hautes performances conçu par l’Empa isole deux à trois fois mieux que les crépis traditionnels et est approprié pour les nouvelles constructions comme pour les rénovations. L’Eawag perfectionne des processus économes en énergie pour traiter les eaux usées. Une station d’épuration zurichoise, entre autres, y a déjà recours. Enfin, l’EPFL développe, en collaboration avec les communes de La Chaux-de- Fonds, Lausanne, Martigny et Neuchâtel, un logiciel grâce auquel des villes pourront mieux planifier et gérer leur approvisionnement et la demande en matière d’énergie.