He could feel things he hadn't felt for years, says Dennis Aabo Sørensen. He was the first amputee to test a new kind of hand prosthetic, which was developed by researchers at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) as part of a European project. The bionic hand provides sensory information in real-time.

At EPFL, Prof. Silvestro Micera (middle), along with his doctoral students Marco Bonizzato and Francesco M. Petrini (left), and postdoc Stanisa Raspopovic (right), are developing a hand prosthetic that conveys sensation.

“A Sensation”, “A Moving Breakthrough”, were the headlines in the international press in February 2014, when EPFL-Professor Silvestro Micera and his team published the results of their tests of a new hand prosthetic. For the first time an amputee was able to feel something again when touching and moving objects. The director of research can still clearly remember the reaction of the prosthetic tester: "You could see from his face how happy he was. That made a big impression on me." Such a thing had been unimaginable before, says Dennis Aabo Sørensen, who lost his left hand in an accident involving fireworks ten years previously: “When I held an object, I could feel if it was soft or hard, round or square.”

With his normal prosthetic the 36-year old Dane can also hold onto objects. Muscle movements in the stump of his arm allow him to open and close the prosthetic. But then he constantly has to watch his prosthetic and check if he is gripping the object correctly, to avoid crushing it. This visual feedback would not be enough if, say, you wanted to pick up an egg in your hand, explains Silvestro Micera. It is only our sense of touch that provides the direct information about the force we are applying, and also about the texture and qualities of the surface of an object as well as its temperature.

The lack of sensation also means that the amputee does not feel the prosthetic to be a part of himself. “This is an important neuropsychological aspect”, the researcher points out. Therefore his aim was to restore this lost information. Besides the EPFL team, scientists in Italy, Germany, Spain and Denmark are also working on the project. The European collaboration is very important, “Not only because of the research funding, but mainly because this is how one can get the best people”, says the native Italian, who has served as director of the EPFL Laboratory for Translational Neural Engineering (Laboratoire d’ingéniere neurale translationelle, TNE) since 2011, and since 2015 has held an endowed professorship (Bertarelli Foundation) for Translational NeuroEngineering.

Robotic hand with a delicate sense of touch

For the prosthetic the researchers used a robotic hand with artificial tendons that control the movements of the fingers. Pressure sensors at the fingertips and in the palm send out an electrical signal, which is then further refined by a computer. For the amputee to receive, process and respond to this information, it has to be fed into the nervous system. “It took us 15 years to find the right kind of connection”, says Silvestro Micera, who had dreamt of developing a bionic hand which was able to provide sensory feedback even when he was a doctoral student at the Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna in Pisa.

The researchers then needed to find a test person to try out the device they had developed. When Dennis Aabo Sørensen learned of this while reading an article in a magazine, he applied to the university hospital in Aalborg in Denmark, which was involved in the project. He was one of 30 applicants who had to undergo various physical and psychological tests, before the research team decided to choose the Dane. “He was highly motivated and capable”, says Silvestro Micera. At the Gemelli hospital in Rome, a team of surgeons and neurologists led by Prof. Paolo M. Rossini implanted four fine electrodes in the remaining part of the left upper arm of the amputee. The doctors chose the ulnar and median nerves for their target, which lead to the fingertips and convey sensation back from the fingers and palm. The electrodes, which basically consist of a thin tungsten needle and a tiny strip of flexible polyimide plastic, were developed by researchers under the leadership of Prof. Thomas Stieglitz at the University of Freiburg in Breisgau.

Pressure sensors in the robotic hand send out an electric signal. Artificial tendons direct the finger movements.

“This is magic”

During the seven-hour operation, the doctors inserted the micro-electrodes transversely through the nerve bundle, so as to achieve a specially good contact, which would allow even extremely weak electrical signals to pass directly into the peripheral nervous system – an operation that was performed on an amputee for the first time. The signal was fed from the robotic hand via wires to the implanted electrodes. The research group waited in excited anticipation to see if the amputee's nerves would show any response, because they had not been used for many years. Then suddenly the Dane turned and exclaimed in surprise, “This is magic! I can feel how my missing hand closes.”

To set up the communication between the brain and the prosthetic, the researchers had developed two computer algorithms. One read the signals from the pressure sensors on the robotic fingers, and fed them through the electrodes, in the form of electrical impulses, into the nervous system. The other one received and processed the signals from the muscles in the stump of the arm, and converted them into commands that could activate the robotic hand. During a preparation period of almost three weeks, the researchers determined the type and amount of sensory information that could be transmitted to the test person by stimulating the various electrodes in the nerves. Only then were the actual tests with the bionic hand carried out.

Every day for a whole week the research group connected their test person to the prosthetic. “It was really difficult for Dennis”, says Silvestro Micera. “He had to do 700 tests, try to apply his grip 700 times.” The researchers kept asking the amputee whether he felt anything, and where it was – in the index finger or the little finger? He learned how to close the artificial hand with just a slight pressure, or a bit more pressure, or very firmly. With his eyes blindfolded, and wearing earplugs, he was able to feel if an object was soft, slightly hard, or very hard. He held and felt a baseball, a mandarin orange and a glass bottle, and he hardly ever let anything fall. “To recognise things that I held, that was incredible”, he recalls. Of course it was not the same as when he used his healthy right hand, but the feeling was similar.

The best technology used in the best way

Following this test series, the research director is confident that the electrodes implanted in the upper arm form an ideal interface between prosthetic and nervous system. In fact there were two other research groups in the USA who had obtained similar results. But, he says, the type of connection developed in Europe was more selective than the method used by the first American colleague, and was less invasive than the second method used by the other colleague. “We have what is probably the best system, and use it in the best way, but we still have to confirm this in the long-term clinical trial that has to be done next”, says Silvestro Micera.

After one month the doctors removed the micro-electrodes again from Dennis Aabo Sørensen's upper arm – for safety reasons. Permission for the clinical study had only been granted under this condition, because of the regulations that apply. The Dane knew from the outset that after this test phase was over he would again have to make do without any sensation in his left hand. He was impressed by the way the dedicated researchers worked with him, and is happy to have been able to contribute to a development that would eventually benefit not only himself but also other amputees as well. “I am happy and grateful”, he says.

The researchers now want to show that the electrodes are sufficiently robust and compatible with the tissues so that they can stay implanted in the body for a long period. “We will need a year for this”, estimates Silvestro Micera. Then the specialists in Rome and at the Lausanne university hospital (CHUV) will have to select two new test persons, who will test the implant over a period of at least one year. Silvestro Micera hopes that the artificial hand will be available for clinical use in eight to ten years. For this, the electronics will have to be miniaturised, though, so that they can be implanted as well. While his tests were being performed, Dennis Aabo Sørensen was still sitting amidst a tangle of electronic wires and switches. So when his children visited him in Rome they called him the ‘cable-guy’.

Dennis Aabo Sørensen raconte qu’il a pu éprouver à nouveau le sens du toucher pour la première fois depuis des années. Il est le premier patient amputé à tester une nouvelle prothèse de la main développée par des chercheurs de l’EPFL dans le cadre d’un projet européen. Cette main bionique transmet des informations sensorielles en temps réel.

«Nouvelle sensationnelle», «Avancée touchante»: tels ont été les gros titres de la presse internationale en février 2014 lorsque le professeur de l’EPFL Silvestro Micera et son équipe ont publié les résultats des tests de la nouvelle prothèse. Pour la première fois, une personne amputée a pu récupérer les sensations ressenties en touchant et en déplaçant des objets. Le directeur de recherche se souvient encore clairement de la réaction du testeur de la prothèse: «On pouvait lire sur son visage à quel point il était heureux. Cela a beaucoup compté pour moi.» Tout cela était inimaginable, affirme Dennis Aabo Sørensen, qui a perdu sa main dans un accident il y a dix ans alors qu’il manipulait des feux d’artifice. «Lorsque je saisissais un objet, je pouvais à nouveau sentir s’il était dur ou mou, rond ou pointu.»

Grâce à sa prothèse habituelle, ce Danois de 36 ans peut également saisir des objets. Les mouvements musculaires dans son moignon lui permettent d’ouvrir et de fermer sa prothèse. Il doit toutefois constamment s’assurer qu’il saisit l’objet correctement afin d’éviter de l’écraser. Mais cette surveillance visuelle ne suffit plus si vous souhaitez par exemple prendre en main un œuf, explique Silvestro Micera. En effet, seul notre sens du toucher est capable de nous dire quelle force nous employons, quelle est la texture de la surface d’un objet ou sa température.

L’absence de sensations signifie également que la personne amputée ne perçoit pas sa prothèse comme faisant partie d’elle-même. «Il s’agit là d’un aspect neuropsychologique important», souligne le chercheur. D’où son objectif de rétablir ces informations perdues. En plus de l’équipe de l’EPFL, le projet a réuni des scientifiques d’Italie, d’Allemagne, d’Espagne et du Danemark. La collaboration européenne revêt une importance particulière «non seulement grâce aux subventions octroyées à la recherche, mais aussi parce qu’elle permet de travailler aux côtés des meilleurs», affirme le chercheur natif d’Italie, qui dirige depuis 2011 le Laboratoire d’ingénierie neurale translationnelle (TNE) de l’EPFL et est également à la tête de la chaire de neuroingénierie translationnelle de la Fondation Bertarelli depuis 2015.

Une main robotisée avec un sens du toucher affiné

Pour la prothèse, les chercheurs ont utilisé une main robotisée munie de tendons artificiels capables de contrôler les mouvements des doigts. Des capteurs situés au bout des doigts et dans la paume de la main envoient des signaux électriques qui sont ensuite affinés par un ordinateur. Pour que le patient amputé puisse recevoir ces informations, les analyser et y réagir, celles-ci doivent être transmises à son système nerveux. «Il nous a fallu 15 ans pour trouver la connexion adéquate» révèle Silvestro Micera, qui rêvait déjà de développer une main bionique capable de réponse sensorielle à l’époque où il faisait son doctorat à la Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna de Pise.

Les chercheurs ont demandé des volontaires pour pouvoir tester leur prototype. Lorsque Dennis Aabo Sørensen a eu vent de cet essai en lisant un article, il est allé s’annoncer à l’hôpital danois d’Aalborg. Le Danois faisait partie des 30 candidats qui ont dû se soumettre à une série d’épreuves physiques et psychiques avant que l’équipe de recherche ne finisse par le choisir. «Il était extrêmement motivé et adroit», se souvient Silvestro Micera. A l’hôpital Gemelli de Rome, une équipe de chirurgiens et de neurologues dirigée par le professeur Paolo M. Rossini a implanté quatre électrodes fines dans le haut du bras gauche du patient amputé. Les médecins ont choisi pour cibles les nerfs cubital et médian, qui descendent jusqu’au bout des doigts et transmettent les sensations des doigts et de la paume. Les électrodes, constituées essentiellement d’une fine aiguille de tungstène et d’une minuscule bande de plastique souple de polyimide, ont été élaborées par une équipe de chercheurs de l’Université de Fribourg-en-Brisgau dirigée par le professeur Thomas Stieglitz.

Des capteurs à pression transmettent un signal électrique à la main robotisée. Des tendons artificiels contrôlent les mouvements des doigts.

«C’est de la magie»

Pendant l’opération d’une durée de sept heures, les médecins ont inséré les micro-électrodes dans les nerfs de manière transversale afin d’assurer un contact optimal, ce qui devait permettre aux signaux électriques même très faibles de passer directement dans le système nerveux périphérique. Jamais une telle opération n’avait encore été pratiquée sur un patient amputé. Les signaux émis par la main robotisée ont ensuite été reliés aux électrodes implantées grâce à des fils. La tension était palpable alors que le groupe de chercheurs attendait impatiemment de voir si les nerfs du patient allaient réagir après tant d’années d’inaction. Et soudain, le Danois s’est retourné et s’est exclamé d’un air incrédule: «C’est de la magie! Je peux sentir ma main manquante se fermer.»

Pour permettre la communication entre le cerveau et la prothèse, les chercheurs avaient développé deux algorithmes informatiques. L’un de ces algorithmes déchiffrait les signaux émis par les capteurs de pression situés sur les doigts robotisés et les transmettait au système nerveux par les électrodes sous la forme d’impulsions électriques. L’autre réceptionnait et traitait les signaux émis par les muscles du moignon et les convertissait en ordres qui activaient la main robotisée. Durant une période de préparation de presque trois semaines, les chercheurs ont déter-miné le type et le niveau des informations sensorielles qui pouvaient être transmises au patient en stimulant les différentes électrodes dans les nerfs. Ce n’est qu’ensuite que les vraies expériences avec la main bionique ont pu commencer.

Chaque jour pendant une semaine, l’équipe de chercheurs a branché le patient à sa prothèse. «C’était extrêmement difficile pour Dennis», dit Silvestro Micera. «Il a dû procéder à 700 essais différents, exercer sa prise 700 fois.» A chaque fois, les chercheurs demandaient au patient s’il sentait quelque chose et où – dans l’index ou l’auriculaire? Il a appris à fermer la main artificielle légèrement, avec un peu plus de pression ou fermement. Avec les yeux bandés et des boules Quiès, il a pu sentir si un objet était mou, semi-dur ou dur. Il a tenu une balle de baseball, une mandarine ou une bouteille en plastique, sans presque rien lâcher. «C’était incroyable de pouvoir identifier les objets que je tenais», se souvient-il. Evidemment, cela n’était pas exactement pareil qu’avec sa main droite intacte, mais la sensation était similaire.

La meilleure technologie appliquée de manière optimale

Suite à cette série d’essais, le directeur de recherche est convaincu que les électrodes implantées dans la partie supérieure du bras constituent l’interface optimale entre la prothèse et le système nerveux. Deux autres groupes de recherche aux Etats-Unis auraient obtenu des résultats similaires, mais la technique d’implantation développée en Europe est plus sélective que celle de l’un des groupes américains et moins invasive que celle de l’autre. «Nous avons sans doute la meilleure technique et nous l’utilisons de manière optimale, mais seuls les essais cliniques imminents sur le long terme le confirmeront», affirme Silvestro Micera.

Au bout d’un mois, les médecins ont retiré les micro-électrodes du haut du bras de Dennis Aabo Sørensen – pour des raisons de sécurité. Pour des raisons réglementaires, l’essai clinique n’avait été accordé qu’à cette condition. Depuis le début, le Danois savait qu’il devrait à nouveau renoncer à la sensation dans sa main gauche après la période d’essai. Il s’est dit impressionné par cette collaboration avec des chercheurs enthousiastes et se réjouit d’avoir pu contribuer à un projet susceptible de l’aider non seulement lui-même, mais aussi d’autres personnes amputées. «J’en suis très heureux et reconnaissant», assure-t-il.

La prochaine étape pour les chercheurs consistera à montrer que les électrodes sont assez robustes et compatibles avec les tissus pour rester implantées dans le corps à long terme. «Pour cela, nous avons besoin d’une année», estime Silvestro Micera. Ensuite, les experts de Rome et du Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, le CHUV, devront sélectionner deux nouveaux sujets qui essaieront l’implant pendant au moins un an. Silvestro Micera espère que la main artificielle sera cliniquement disponible dans huit à dix ans. Pour cela, il faudra cependant d’abord miniaturiser les composants électroniques afin de pouvoir les implanter eux aussi. Lors de ses essais, Dennis Aabo Sørensen était encore assis au milieu d’un enchevêtrement de connexions et d’interrupteurs électriques. Lorsque ses enfants lui ont rendu visite à Rome, ils l’ont surnommé «l’homme aux câbles».