01 July 2015

The Federal Council and Parliament aim to gradually phase out nuclear energy in Switzerland by 2035. They therefore aim to promote research into energy over the coming years. In accordance with the Swiss Coordinated Energy Research action plan, the Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI) has the mandate to finance and manage the creation of research networks between higher education institutions. The institutions of the ETH Domain are participating in all eight Swiss Competence Centers for Energy Research (SCCER), for seven of these as leading house.

Energy has already been a central field of research in the ETH Domain for years, and with ETH Zurich, EPFL and its four research institutes, the ETH Domain covers the entire value-creation chain – from basic research to product-specific development, which will be to the benefit of industry and innovative SMEs in Switzerland.

The SCCERs, which started operations in 2014, are looking for solutions to the technical, social and political challenges arising as a result of the energy revolution. All SCCERs explore and develop solutions that are marketable and socially acceptable, and that can be seamlessly developed by industry. Eight SCCERs were created in seven action areas:

Efficiency

This action area deals both with efficiency in energy supply and with rational use of energy. In includes the whole of the buildings sector and industrial processes.

SCCER Future Energy Efficient Buildings & Districts (SCCER FEEB&D)
Leading House: Empa

SCCER Efficiency of Industrial Processes (SCCER EIP)
Leading House: ETH Zurich

Grids and their components, energy systems

This area of action focuses on power grids. Central issues include the stability of the electricity grid, security of supply in Switzerland and the integration of intermittent renewable power and smart grids, also with regard to storage technologies.

SCCER Future Swiss Electrical Infrastructure (SCCER-FURIES)
Leading House: EPFL

Storage

Important questions facing future energy supply are: how to store heat at different temperatures, how best to store electrical, chemical and mechanical energy and how to convert it into a useable form.

SCCER Heat and Electricity Storage (SCCER Hae)
Leading House: PSI

Power supply

Technical innovations for existing and new facilities and new hydropower plants need to be developed, as do mechanisms to optimally control and link water supply and electricity production. There is also extensive untapped geothermal and geostorage potential in Switzerland: deep geothermal can be used to meet base load demand.

Swiss Competence Center on Supply of Electricity (SCCER-SoE)
Leading House: ETH Zurich

Economy, environment, law, behaviour

For the energy revolution to be successful, many institutional changes in policy and in the energy markets need to take place in addition to technological innovation. In this action area, experts from a wide range of social sciences are called upon to ascertain the social, political and economic implications arising from certain institutional structures and incentive systems.

Competence Center for Research in Energy, Society and Transition (SCCER CREST)
Leading House: Universität Basel

Efficient concepts, processes and components in mobility

About 34% of total energy use in Switzerland is in the transport sector – moving people and goods around on roads, rail and in the air. Road transport in Switzerland has the greatest innovation potential for efficiency savings. Research focuses on more efficient vehicles, e.g. lightweight, considerably more powerful and reliable electrochemical batteries for use in electrically powered transport, and new urban models to reduce work-related mobility.

SCCER Efficient Technologies and Systems for Mobility (SCCER Mobility)
Leading House: ETH Zurich

Biomass

If biomass is to become an efficient and widespread source of renewable energy, more efficient end-use technologies need to become established on the market. The main focus of research at the SCCER includes: availability and use of biomass; use of biogas to generate electricity and heat; gas and liquid energy sources from biomass.

SCCER Biomass for Swiss Energy Future (SCCER BIOSWEET)
Leading House: PSI

01 juillet 2015

L’abandon progressif de l’énergie nucléaire d’ici 2035, décidé par le Parlement et le Conseil fédéral, incite ces derniers à renforcer la recherche énergétique au cours des prochaines années. Dans le cadre du plan d’action «Recherche énergétique suisse coordonnée», la Commission pour la technologie et l'innovation (CTI) a été chargée de financer et de piloter la mise en place de pôles de compétence interuniversitaires en recherche. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF sont tous présents dans les huit Swiss Competence Centers for Energy Research (SCCER) et dirigent sept d’entre eux en qualité de Leading House.

La recherche énergétique constitue depuis des années un champ d’investigation de premier plan pour le Domaine des EPF: les deux écoles polytechniques et les quatre établissements de recherche permettent de couvrir l’ensemble de la chaîne de création de valeur, depuis la recherche fondamentale jusqu’au développement axé sur les produits, qui profitent à l’industrie et aux PME innovantes en Suisse.

Les Swiss Competence Centers for Energy Research (SCCER), inaugurés en 2014, cherchent des solutions aux défis technologiques, sociétaux et politiques qui sont posés par la transition énergétique. Les SCCER explorent et développent des solutions «prêtes à l’emploi», c’est-à-dire qui puissent être mises en œuvre à grande échelle, qui soient acceptables pour la société et qui puissent être appliquées telles quelles par l’industrie. Huit SCCER ont été institués dans sept champs d’action:

Efficacité énergétique

Ce champ d’action traite, d’une part, de la question de l’efficacité lors de la mise à disposition de l’énergie et, d’autre part, de l’utilisation rationnelle de celle-ci. Cela inclut aussi bien l’ensemble du domaine du bâtiment que les processus industriels.

SCCER Future Energy Efficient Buildings & Districts (SCCER FEEB&D)
Leading House: Empa

SCCER Efficiency of Industrial Processes (SCCER EIP)
Leading House: ETH Zurich

Réseaux et composants, systèmes énergétiques

Ce champ d’action met l’accent sur les réseaux électriques. Outre les thèmes touchant à la stabilité du réseau électrique et à la sécurité de l’approvisionnement énergétique de la Suisse (y compris l’intégration des technologies de stockage correspondantes), les thèmes principaux comprennent l’intégration des sources d’énergie renouvelables et intermittentes ainsi que des Smart Grids.

SCCER Future Swiss Electrical Infrastructure (SCCER-FURIES)
Leading House: EPFL

Stockage

Le stockage de la chaleur à différents niveaux de température, de l’énergie électrique, chimique et mécanique ainsi que la transformation que celle-ci doit subir pour être consommable sont des éléments importants de l’approvisionnement énergétique du futur.

SCCER Heat and Electricity Storage (SCCER Hae)
Leading House: PSI

Mise à disposition de courant; mise à disposition d’énergie électrique

Des innovations technologiques pour les installations nouvelles et existantes ainsi que des mécanismes visant à régler et à relier les ressources en eau et la production d’électricité de façon optimale doivent être réalisés. Au vu du grand potentiel non exploité en matière de géothermie et de stockage géothermique, le recours à la géothermie profonde pour la mise à disposition de l’énergie en ruban est une option évidente.

Swiss Competence Center on Supply of Electricity (SCCER-SoE)
Leading House: ETH Zurich

Economie, environnement, droit, comportements

Outre les innovations technologiques, le tournant énergétique ne pourra être effectué sans la mise en place d’innovations institutionnelles dans le domaine politique et sur le marché de l’énergie. Dans ce champ d’action, il est question d’analyser quelles implications sociales, politiques et économiques résultent de certaines structures institutionnelles et certains systèmes d’incitation en faisant appel à un large spectre de compétences relevant des sciences sociales.

Competence Center for Research in Energy, Society and Transition (SCCER CREST)
Leading House: Universität Basel

Concepts, processus et composants dans les transports

Près de 34 des besoins énergétiques suisses servent à assurer la mobilité des personnes et à transporter des marchandises par voie routière, ferrée et aérienne. En Suisse, le plus grand potentiel d’innovation au niveau de l’efficacité énergétique réside dans le transport routier. Les activités de recherche prioritaires visant notamment à concevoir des véhicules plus efficaces, avec de nouvelles batteries plus légères, plus performantes et plus fiables, font partie des thèmes centraux liés aux transports électriques, de même que les nouveaux concepts urbains visant à réduire la mobilité professionnelle.

SCCER Efficient Technologies and Systems for Mobility (SCCER Mobility)
Leading House: ETH Zurich

Biomasse

Une utilisation efficace et à grande échelle de la biomasse comme source d’énergie renouvelable présuppose l’introduction de technologies d’exploitation efficaces sur le marché. Les priorités du SCCER sont la mise à disposition et l’utilisation de la biomasse et du biogaz pour la production d’électricité et de chaleur ainsi que les vecteurs énergétiques, sous forme gazeuse ou liquide, de l’énergie tirée de la biomasse.

SCCER Biomass for Swiss Energy Future (SCCER BIOSWEET)
Leading House: PSI