To increase the proportion of women in the ETH Domain, girls’ interest in the MINT subjects is encouraged, for instance with the EPFL’s programme Les sciences, ça m’intéresse!

The ETH Zurich, the EPFL and the four research institutes of the ETH Domain have long institutionalised the advancement of women. They have drawn up a wide range of measures in connection with the core elements of the ETH Board’s 2008-2011 strategy for the advancement of women – from guidelines for appointments and mentoring programmes for female doctoral students to crèches. In addition, the following initiatives deserve special mention:

The ETH Zurich has been operating a gender monitoring programme since 2009. The resulting data specifically reveal where measures are still required to meet the targets set by the ETH Board.

The EPFL already focuses on schoolgirls. The privately sponsored initiative Les sciences, ça m’intéresse!, which intends to encourage girls’ interest in the MINT subjects, is attracting a great deal of public interest.

The PSI has been running a programme entitled Return to professional life, with which it has committed itself to offering young, motivated scientists who are seeking to return after a family break, tailor-made options for induction and qualifications in demanding careers.

The WSL runs special career promotion programmes for PhD and post-doc graduates in order to enable competent women to enjoy equal employment opportunities.

Empa regularly has its varied range of measures for the advancement of women checked by the external organisation UND, which advocates a family/career balance for both men and women, in order to be able to take further adequate measures.

Eawag has a relatively high percentage of women up to executive level. In order to maintain and further improve this, it has taken various measures to promote the recruitment of women for tenuretrack positions.

Eveiller l‘intérêt des filles pour les disciplines MINT, notamment grâce au programme «Les sciences, ça m‘intéresse!» de l‘EPFL, permet d‘accroître la part des femmes au sein du Domaine des EPF.

Les deux EPF et les quatre établissements de recherche du Domaine des EPF ont institutionnalisé la promotion des femmes depuis longtemps. Ils ont ainsi élaboré une offre variée, basée sur les principaux éléments de la stratégie 2008–2011 du Conseil des EPF en la matière (directive sur la nomination, programme de mentorat pour les doctorantes, crèches, etc.). Les initiatives suivantes méritent d’être soulignées:

Depuis 2009, l’ETH Zurich gère un monitorage par genre, dont les données permettent de déterminer les domaines où des mesures sont encore requises eu égard aux directives du Conseil des EPF.

L’EPFL met l’accent sur les écolières. L’initiative «Les sciences, ça m’intéresse!», qui promeut les disciplines MINT auprès des filles et bénéficie également du soutien de particuliers, suscite un très grand intérêt dans l’opinion publique.

A travers le programme «Retour à la vie active», l’Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) s’engage à proposer des possibilités de réinsertion et de qualification ciblées dans des domaines intéressants à de jeunes scientifiques motivées qui souhaitent reprendre une activité professionnelle de haut niveau après une pause consacrée à leur famille.

Le WSL propose des développements de carrière spécifiques aux diplômées qui font un doctorat ou un postdoctorat afin d’offrir les mêmes chances professionnelles à des femmes compétentes.

L’Empa demande régulièrement au bureau externe «UND – Equilibre entre famille et emploi pour les hommes et les femmes» d’examiner son offre variée de promotion des femmes afin de pouvoir prendre d’autres mesures appropriées.

L’Eawag affiche une part relativement élevée de femmes à tous les échelons hiérarchiques. Différentes mesures visant à fidéliser ses collaboratrices et à en attirer d’autres y encouragent le recrutement des femmes à des postes à prétitularisation conditionnelle.