The ETH Appeals Commission is the first-instance special administrative court which rules on appeals against decisions or decrees of an ETH Domain body. The complaints as a rule involve personnel and university law issues. The rulings of the ETH Appeals Committee can be appealed against at the Swiss Federal Administrative Court.

The Commission is an independent judicial authority. Its seven members are elected by the ETH Board. Its office is in Bern.


  • Lic. iur. Barbara Gmür Wenger, President (from 1.1.2020)
  • Dr. iur. Esther Tophinke, Vice President (until 31.12.2019)
  • Prof. Dr. Simone Deparis (from 1.1.2020)
  • Jonas Philippe
  • Dr sc.nat. Dieter Ramseier
  • Prof. Thomas Vogel (from 1.1.2020)
  • Yolanda Schärli


  • Yolanda Schärli, director
  • Valentine Delarze
  • Nicole Etter
  • Sibylle Thür
  • Irène Vitous
  • Mariel Wolf